Why I Hate Leftovers But Love (Gluten-Free) Lasagna

As a wannabe homesteader, it pains me to say this but… I hate leftovers. Mostly. I’m making every possible attempt to help my taste buds overcome this weakness. But I’ve spent many years refusing to eat food that has been reheated in an oven or, gasp, a microwave. It just never tastes as good! Especially not when compared to the virtually limitless number of other yummy things I could be eating instead.

Normally if you talk money and economics to me, I’m persuaded. My brain realizes that eating leftovers would be the smart choice to save money. But my mouth will not cooperate. I’ve convinced myself for essentially my entire life to believe that leftovers are inferior and taste terrible. My brain thinks that I can taste “microwave” in the food. But it’s getting better! Among the things I will now eat as leftovers, there is pizza, breakfast casserole, mashed sweet potatoes, and lasagna. This makes packing foods for lunch at the office easier and allows me to branch out beyond sandwiches and salad. So next I’d like to share a bangin’ gluten-free lasagna recipe that I discovered from The Domestic Man blog.

Gluten-Free Lasagna

141120 image1

I made very few modifications to The Domestic Man’s recipe. It was my first time using rice noodles, and I could barely tell a difference. Not mushy but not undercooked and crispy either. Here was our slightly modified ingredients list:

  • 1 pkg no-boil lasagna rice noodles
  • 2 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped finely
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp each salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp avocado oil
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2 28oz cans tomato puree
  • 15oz while milk ricotta cheese
  • 1 1/4 cups parmesan cheese, shaved
  • 1 lb whole milk mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 egg

The original recipe used a dutch oven; unfortunately, CK and I haven’t gotten around to acquiring one of those marvelous cooking vessels yet, so we improvised.

141120 image2141120 image3

Turned out just fine browning the onion, garlic, and beef in a skillet before transferring over to our large stainless steel stock pot, where we added the heavy cream and tomato puree (though not at the same time).

141120 image4

I splurged on our cheese filling ingredients. Found fresh ricotta at Wegmans, bought the fancy shaved parmesan, and shredded the mozzarella ourselves. This may not sound all that special, but it is for us on a weeknight!

141120 image5

I was very liberal with the cheese towards the end of the lasagna construction! I always use too little at the beginning and then end up going overboard with the cheese. I did the same thing when I was a kid and could convince my Dad to buy me a cheese pizza Lunchables (this was a rare occurrence, let me tell you). I would make the first little pizza with about 3 little shreds of cheese. By the time I got to the last little pizza, I had half a bucket of cheese left to use and piled it on thick.

141120 image6

This slice of lasagna tasted great today after a 2-minute nuke in the microwave. Dare I say it even tasted BETTER the second day than the first! I am slowly but surely overcoming my leftover-phobia.

Leave a Reply

